Game of Thrones: Seven Deadly Sins Theory

Game of Thrones: Seven Deadly Sins Theory

One intriguing Games of Thrones fan theory proposes that the major houses in this world symbolize the Seven Deadly Sins, underlining the moral complexity and flaws within the series' characters. House Tyrell, driven by unquenchable Greed, constantly shifts allegiances to pursue power. House Baratheon, often associated with Rage, exemplifies this deadly sin through Robert Baratheon's fiery temper. House Targaryen's Envy is evident in their relentless desire to reclaim the Iron Throne, which was taken from them. House Martell represents Gluttony, although it may be less apparent, as their indulgent behaviors and overindulgence in various aspects come to the forefront.

The theory extends to House Frey's embodiment of Sloth due to their incompetence and laziness, House Stark's connection to Pride, manifested through their stubbornness and disobedience, and House Lannister, embodying Lust with their self-serving and inconsiderate actions. Each major house serves as a microcosm of one of the Seven Deadly Sins, emphasizing the moral ambiguity and complexity that defines the characters in Game of Thrones.

Furthermore, the theory challenges the traditional view of the White Walkers as the ultimate antagonists. It suggests that they might be agents of the old gods, tasked with purging a world tainted by corruption, akin to the biblical flood in the story of Noah's ark. This unique perspective adds a layer of complexity to the series and aligns with Game of Thrones' reputation for subverting expectations and presenting intricate moral dilemmas.

Previous Fact Next Fact
Categories: Misc

Latest FactRepublic Video

15 Most Controversial & Costly Blunders in History

Sponsored Links