Five Pungent Roots

Five Pungent Roots

Many observant Buddhists avoid eating the “five pungent roots” (or "five pungent vegetables”) - onions, garlic, chives, leeks, and scallions - because they are thought to have an aphrodisiac effect that distracts them from meditation and other spiritual practices.

Previous Fact Next Fact
Categories: FoodPlantsReligion

Latest FactRepublic Video

Room of Forgotten Souls

Sponsored Links