The Year Without a Summer

The Year Without a Summer

1816 was called "The Year Without a Summer" after the eruption of Mount Tambora in Indonesia. Crop failure forced Joseph Smith to leave Vermont, and his journeys resulted in “The Book of Mormon.” The dreary rain in Switzerland drove Mary Shelley to stay indoors, where she wrote “Frankenstein.”

Previous Fact Next Fact
Categories: PlacesWeather

Latest FactRepublic Video

15 Most Controversial & Costly Blunders in History

Sponsored Links